The competition attracted 222 entries from students of 34 nationalities, studying at 68 schools of architecture in 23 countries. Unprecedented interest was such that 20 competitors ignored the primary criteria for eligibility (that they should at the time of submission, be studying at a school in a Commonwealth country) to send entries from Turkey, Japan, Poland, USA, Italy, Germany, and Puerto Rico. The Jury comprised; Phillip Kungu CAA President (Kenya); Patrick Stanigar (Jamaica); Mira Fassler-Kamstra (South Africa) and was chaired by the Editor of the Architectural Review, Peter Davey (UK, First prize (£1200): Henry Williams, fourth year, University of Adelaide, Australia Second prize (£500): Ujjval Tanchal + Sachin Soni, fifth year, School of Architecture CEPT, Ahmedabad, India.third prize (£200): Vongai PP Pasirayi, third year, National University of Science and Technology, Bulawayo, Zimbabwe. Prize for entrant in first or second year (£200): Stephen Lammas, second year, UNITEC School of Architecture, Auckland, New Zealand Honorary mentions; Unathi Lincon, University of Port Elizabeth, South Africa; Mia Visser, second year, University of Pretoria, South Africa William Paul Norris, second year, Manchester Metropolitan University, UK; Mark Jooste, second year, University of Pretoria, South Africa; Too Wing, PD student, University of Hong Kong, China; Rebecca Murphy, second year, Queensland Institute of Technology, Australia
Foo Suk Yin, fifth year, University of Tasmania, Launceston, Australia, Koji Misaki, fifth year, University of Tsukubu Art and Design School, Japan. The jury concluded, “”This competition (the only one of its kind) has proved so successful that all jury members thought that the Commonwealth Association of Architects might consider expanding its terms of reference to allow students from all over the world to enter. While appreciating that this would cause problems, the jury suggests that such a widening of horizons would stimulate quality even further.

Post Tags
Post Categories

Comments are closed.