Clare Newton, CAA Chair of Validation, convened a working group who decided the competition brief to do with inclusive design for the elderly.

Sponsorship, plus the travel cost of their jury member, Rachel Sayers, was secured from Feilden Clegg Bradley Studios (UK). The Architectural Review continue to support the competition and Catherine Slessor, Managing Editor, was a juror. Other jury members were; Ashvin Kumar Kantilal (Past President, Singapore Institute of Architects) Peter Rich (Chair) (Peter Rich Architects and Professor of Architecture at the University of Witwatersrand), Samsul Wares (Professor and Dean, School of Environment and Design, University of Asia Pacific, Bangladesh).

Submissions were made online and the £50 registration fee financed reproduction costs in Dhaka, the location for the jury.

Although the competition was launched relatively late in May 2012 it was promoted extensively, and attracted 126 entrants. The brief and results can be found at

Post Tags
Post Categories

Leave a Reply