The Commonwealth is an association of sovereign nations which support each other and work together towards international goals. It is also a ‘family’ of peoples. With their common heritage in language, culture, law, education and democratic traditions, among other things, Commonwealth countries are able to work together in an atmosphere of greater trust and understanding than generally prevails among nations. There are 54 member countries in the Commonwealth.

Commonwealth Secretariat


Commonwealth Foundation


Commonwealth of Nations


Commonwealth Youth programme

Commonwealth Youth programme

Built Environment Professions in the Commonwealth (BEPIC)

CAA is part of an informal group of Commonwealth accredited Civil Society organisations representing built environment professions formed in 1997 to participate in the Commonwealth People’s Forum held prior to the Commonwealth Heads of Government Meeting (CHOGM) in Edinburgh. In recent years it has organised successful London seminars reflecting on sustainability, urbanisation, and climate change attracting a diverse audience of professionals representing the Commonwealth in London.   At the Kampala CHOGM 2007 BEPIC’s call for a ‘State of the Commonwealth Cities Report’ to assess both the opportunities and threats of urban growth and make recommendations for inter-governmental action was included in the Civil Society Report to the Heads of Government and was taken up in the CHOGM Statement.

CAA’s partners are:

Commonwealth Engineers’ Council (CEC) 

Commonwealth Association of Planners (CAP) 

Commonwealth Association of Surveying and Land Economy (CASLE)


Comments are closed.